Some Lines I Love

December 12, 2011 § 4 Comments


 Ben Gibbard, an amazing lyricist and musician for the band Death Cab for Cutie.  These are some of the lyrics I found that deeply struck me.  So beautifully written and well said;  not to mention the amazing music that brings the words to life.  These are only a few lines from some songs in their album Narrow Stairs.  Certainly DCFC has a number of albums out with it astounding lyrics.

Bixby Canyon Bridge

And the silence; it became so very clear
That you had long ago disappeared.
I cursed myself for being surprised
That this didn’t play like it did in my mind.

I Will Possess Your Heart

How I wish you could see the potential,
The potential of you and me
It’s like a book elegantly bound,
But in a language that you can’t read just yet.

No Sunlight

You dissapeared with the same speed
The idealistic things I believed
The optimist died inside of me
No sunlight

Cath

And as the flash bulbs burst
She holds a smile like someone would hold a crying child

The Ice Is Getting Thinner

We’re not the same, dear, as we used to be
The seasons have changed and so have we
There was little we could say and even less that we could do
To stop the ice from getting thinner under me and you

We buried our love in the wintery grave
A lump in the snow was all that remained
But we stayed by it’s side, as the days turned to weeks
And the ice kept getting thinner with every word that we’d speak

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Some Lines I Love

your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Some Lines I Love at scribblinghermit.

meta

